California Academy of Science Night Life: crafting

Thursday August 16, 2012
California Academy of Science and Underdogs Taco Shop

Each Thursday, the California Academy of Science hosts a 21+ event called Nightlife – every week it is a different theme which you can enjoy with DJ’s and a bar. Another plus is that tickets are $12 compared to the general admission of $29.95. I would recommend purchasing tickets online beforehand because the entrance line was already a mile long at 5:30 pm (doors open at 6:00 pm).

Girl’s night out started with us getting dolled up (there is no dress code for Nightlife, but we wanted to dress up for the event) and drinking UV Cake Vodka with AW Rootbeer. Surprisingly we found what my housemate would call “Princess Parking” – it’s close parking. But I am guessing that is because all the other places in Golden Gate Park are closed at this time. Although we found “Princess Parking”, the line to Nightlife was already a mile long by 5:30 pm, but the wait didn’t feel very long because we laughed and talked away.

The already established long line at 5:30 pm filled with 21+ adults.

Looking at snakes (I am extremely scared of snakes, but I am deathly afraid of spiders). Moments after this photo was taken, my housemate (in the black cardigan) tried to make the snake (top right photo) move by dancing crazily.

This butterfly mocked me, every time I was just about to snap a photo of it, it would close it’s wings. I was finally able to take a picture of it on different level of the exhibit. Maybe it’s an entirely different butterfly, I’ll never know. If you are afraid of birds (like my housemate) or butterflies, do not come to this exhibit.

A warty frog’s behind – if you know me, you’ll know I have some sort of “butt obsession” on animals and possibly in this case an amphibian.

The craft area was packed with 21+-ers laughing and drinking away attempting to make specialties. There was bracelet making, etching letters into a cooper pendant, hot glue gun station, led light making, wool making, and so forth. We were pressed for time, we weren’t able to do a lot. We were only at the craft area for about an hour, other times was spent exploring and watching the Earthquake (which I highly recommend). Near the entrance, there was a section of art sellers. We stopped by a poet lady, who is extremely talented. She writes a short poem for you or a person of your choice with a typewriter on pretty scrapbook paper of your choosing. The way it works is: you tell her a little about yourself or a person of your choosing, and then she starts writing a beautiful poem. My housemate got one and it was very creative and we were in awe.

After Nightlife, we went to Underdog Taco Shop for some cider and delicious food (we were extremely hungry since none of us had eaten dinner beforehand). When we were leaving Golden Gate Park, my housemate proceeded to tell me about the “Golden Gate Park Ghost Cop”. I hate when she tells me scary stories!

— expressivesole

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

